Weather Forecast


Outside of Vegas, the Minnesota Wild are the only team in the NHL to never draft a UND-bound player

Minnesota Wild left wing Zach Parise (11) looks on from the ice in the second period of an NHL hockey game against the Anaheim Ducks at Honda Center. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

There are only two NHL teams who have never picked a UND player in the draft.

One is the Vegas Golden Knights, who have only participated in the event once.

The other is the Minnesota Wild.

The Wild have had 18 drafts in franchise history, selecting a total of 129 players, but none of them have been UND-bound.

Since the Wild became a franchise in 2000, the only other teams who haven’t picked a UND player are the Detroit Red Wings (last was Rick Zombo in 1981), the Calgary Flames (last was George Pelawa in 1986/Kevin Melrose in 1984) and Vegas.

In the last decade, 26 of the 31 NHL teams have picked a UND player.

Minnesota has the 24th pick in the first round of the NHL Draft tonight, which will begin at 6:30 p.m. on NBC Sports Network.

That’s at the top of the range where UND-bound defensemen Jonny Tychonick and Jacob Bernard-Docker are projected to go. Most scouts peg Tychonick and Bernard-Docker as late-first or second-round picks.

The Wild also have three third-round picks, two fifth-round picks, a sixth-round pick and a seventh-round pick.

UND’s other draft prospects are projected late-rounders in forwards Gavin Hain and Jasper Weatherby. Goalie Adam Scheel also is draft eligible, but isn’t expected to go.

Although the Wild haven’t drafted any UND players, they have signed a number of them.

Brad Bombardir, Travis Roche, Curtis Murphy, Chay Genoway, Zach Parise and Chris Porter all have played for Minnesota.

Parise is currently the alternate captain for the Wild.

The Minnesota North Stars regularly drafted UND players. In their last 15 years before moving to Dallas, they picked six UND-bound players.


2017 -- Nashville Predators

2016 -- New York Islanders, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Colorado Avalanche

2015 -- Florida Panthers, Ottawa Senators, Philadelphia Flyers, Vancouver Canucks

2014 -- Washington Capitals, St. Louis Blues, Chicago Blackhawks

2013 -- San Jose Sharks, Winnipeg Jets, Anaheim Ducks, New York Rangers

2012 -- Los Angeles Kings

2011 -- Edmonton Oilers

2010 -- Boston Bruins, Tampa Bay Lightning, Montreal Canadiens

2009 -- New Jersey Devils

2008 -- Toronto Maple Leafs, Phoenix Coyotes, Buffalo Sabres

2001 -- Pittsburgh Penguins

2000 -- Carolina Hurricanes

1986 -- Calgary Flames

1981 -- Detroit Red Wings

Never -- Minnesota Wild, Vegas Golden Knights